A political division within a state, usually encompassing one or more cities or towns. There are exceptions such as New York City which contains more than one county. Louisiana uses the word parrish instead of county; New York uses both borough and county, as in Kings County (the borough of Brooklyn).

Real Estate Practice Test - Pass Your Real Estate Exam Now!

More Real Estate Definitons